Advent Calendar 2012 – Fruitcake – Friend or Foe?

My Grandmother spotted this Christmas Cake recipe in a copy of Woman Magazine, and since then both my Mum and I  have used it.

The photograph is of the actual page from the magazine, which does look in rather a sorry state! The actual date is gleaned from a book review on the reverse of the recipe – 1983!

This post is also being shared with Weekend Cooking which is hosted by Beth at BethFishReads

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Advent Calendar 2012 – Fruitcake – Friend or Foe?

  1. caite says:

    wow, that actually looks very much like my recipe, a Christmas Cake in Ireland.
    I still call it that in NJ, because the word fruitcake sets some people off.

    Like

  2. jama says:

    That's a well used and well loved recipe. I'm a fan of homemade fruitcake :).

    Like

  3. I can't say that I'm a fruitcake fan…

    Like

  4. Peggy says:

    Looks like a treasured recipe for sure!

    Like

  5. Joy says:

    My husband likes fruitcake but we haven't made it.
    Joy's Book Blog

    Like

  6. Carole says:

    Fantastic that you still have it. Good that you now have it electronically too.

    Like

  7. Beth F says:

    Oh I love that you still have the original. Lots of years of memories on that well-worn page.

    Like

  8. I love recipes in their original form – tells a story right there!

    Like

  9. Cecelia says:

    Wow – very cool! I've never made a fruitcake, and the ones I've tried I haven't been much of a fan of… but maybe this one would change my mind. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  10. Kristin says:

    I am getting ready to mix up my fruitcake tomorrow. Wish I could enlarge this recipe so I'd be sure to get the perfect cake! I sort of overcooked them last year. all were eaten none the less.

    Like

  11. Kristin, if you click the image it should enlarge. If not I can always see if I can email you the enlarged versio

    Like

  12. I like the look of a well-used recipe -it looks like mine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

