Blogging A-Z – April Challenge – Y is for …..

Y is for…… Yothu Yindi
I first heard Yothu Yindi at a concert in Sydney back in 1991. A remarkable mix of modern music and the continual embracing of indigenous music. One of their most popular songs is Treaty.

When I returned to the UK in 1992, I was on a tube heading across London and saw an advertisement for Yothu Yindi who were on a tour of the US and Western Europe driven by the success of the album that Treaty was on, called Tribal Voice. As luck would have it, I managed to get tickets and saw them again.
Since those early days I have replaced my tape collection, although I still have them with CDs of their music and now have them on my iPhone for continual enjoyment! You can read about the band’s success HERE
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogging A-Z – April Challenge – Y is for …..

  1. This was a clever Y choice, Julie! Your Australia theme has been well played out with a variety of topics, all interesting. I've enjoyed seeing Oz through your eyes.

    Like

  2. Anglers Rest says:

    I have really enjoyed the A-Z theme this year and am very glad that I chose to feature Australia and then to link it to the various usual meme's I take part in.

    I remember that first trip like it was yesterday and if I could wind back the clock I would do it all and more again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

