In Memory of Lillian Edith Butcher nee Matthews 1912- 1995

17 years ago today, my beloved Grandmother passed away. I thought that I would share a few of my favourite photos of her.

  • Top left – aged 12 years
  • Top right – aged 21 years
  • Bottom left – taken circa 1940
  • Bottom right – taken circa 1948 with my Grandfather and their daughter, my Mum.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to In Memory of Lillian Edith Butcher nee Matthews 1912- 1995

  1. A.D. Duling says:

    Hi Julie,

    I love your post and the lovely pictures of your granmother, sweet! I love my grandma, who is still with me, and had to share your touching post on my A.D.'s FAV 5 of the A to Z challenge today. http://adduling.wordpress.com/

    If you do not see my FAV 5 post just yet, then I am still working my way through, you are #2 :0) So please do check back :0)

    Have a wonderful weekend!
    A.D.

    Like

  2. Anglers Rest says:

    Hi A.D,,

    Thanks for a lovely comment and for making me #2 on the list. I am off to check out your page now. I really wish I had though of doing a top 5 each day….maybe next year!

    Like

  3. Isn't it wonderful to have photos of your grandmother to remember her by. Sounds like you were close.

    Like

  4. Anglers Rest says:

    It is lovely that I have photos and I have quite a few of them. Sadly non of her wedding. We were very close and I think of her often. She was an amazing lady.

    Like

  5. Little Nell says:

    She looks a lovely lady Julie. I wish I'd written down more of my grandmother's stories which she told me when I was a child. She died a few days after my daughter was born. It's great that we can pay tribute to these wonderful women through the blog.

    Like

  6. Anglers Rest says:

    Thanks for stopping by Nell and your comment. She was an incredible influence on me. I have some really fond and amusing memories of her and thankfully I did make lots of notes of our conversations together.

    Like

Leave a Reply

